Knitpicking

A science geek and knitter talks about random stuff.

“Order of the Phoenix”? I Think I’ll Pass.

Posted by knitpicking on 8 July 2007

Anyone who knows me is aware that I am a Harry Potter fanatic. I have a wand. I even have a Time-Turner (sadly, non-working). I have all of the books, and I have (with one exception) read them multiple times. The one that I cannot bring myself to read again is Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. And so I may break from tradition and skip the movie.

SPOILER ALERT: To anyone who has not read the book and plans to see the movie, you may not want to read the rest of the post, as I am going to discuss exactly why I didn’t like the book. In doing so, I may reveal details that would be considered spoilers. You have been warned.

All right then.

Don’t get me wrong – I don’t think that Book 5 was of lower quality than the previous ones. I just absolutely could not stand Dolores Umbridge. Her character was so infuriating that I had to force myself to finish the book. I found myself wanting to skip any part with her in it, and I had to put the book down numerous times when I became so angry that I could not read another sentence without risking an aneurysm.

I understand that we are supposed to hate her.  And in that respect, JK Rowling has done an excellent job.  However, Umbridge and her actions negatively impacted my enjoyment of the book as a whole.  I knew that since it’s a children’s book, Umbridge would get hers in the end.  But it was so many pages of annoyance to get to that point.

So I think I’ll skip the movie.  I think my negative reaction to the book will keep me from enjoying the movie.  I’ll probably see it when it comes out on DVD, because at least then I can fast-forward through any unbearable parts.

2 Responses to ““Order of the Phoenix”? I Think I’ll Pass.”

  1. what a great site and informative posts, I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

    I’m Out! 🙂

  2. Haleyknitz said

    bwahahhaa i don’t like watching the movies because they’re not as good as teh book… same with twilight.

Leave a Reply

 
